About us

Temple of Refuge Community Church began in February 1974, when Pastor Westfield was led to hold Tuesday night bible study in the basement of her home. Souls were saved, delivered and set free. Many became the source of their doctor’s awe when afflictions of the body were miraculously healed. In 1980, God moved Pastor Westfield to a higher calling, and was the driving force behind the Pastor’s decision to leave a church to which she had rendered faithful membership for ten years, to begin her own ministry.


On March 2, 1980, “Our Mission” Church held Sunday morning service, the membership vastly grew. In 1981, Our Mission became established under the banner of the United Holy Church of America, Inc. The name ”Temple of Refuge United Holy Church” worshipped in the basement of the Pastors home until 1986. Here Temple of Refuge took on facets of a fully functioning church and its storefront foundation has truly been a beacon of light for those wandering in darkness. The fundamental doctrine of the Bible continues to be taught uncompromisingly.


In June 1991, Temple of Refuge Church became a separate entity from the banner of the United Holy Church of America, and was thus independently renamed Temple of Refuge Evangelistic Church Inc. Our membership continues to grow and God has proven himself over and over to be the catalyst, praise His wonderful name. Temple of Refuge is an active establishment holding weekly services such as Tuesday Night Prayer and Biblical teachings, Noonday Prayer and other ministries and services.


Today, because of God’s grace and mercy, we worship at our new location, here 7486 Tulpehocken Street, where God had us patiently wait for this divine opportunity! We are a group of praying, dedicated and spirit filled people who are richly blessed to have a leader whose ear is opened to the voice of the Lord, and who teaches us to love by example. To God be the glory for the great things he has done and continues to do.

our leaders:
Evelyn H. Westfield

Lead Pastor

Learn more >

Michael J. Draper

Assistant Pastor

Learn more >

Cynthia Collins

Pastor's Aide President

Betty Washington-Simms

Missionary President

Nancy Washington

Usher's President

Danielle Price
& Felicia Wright

Youth Department Leaders